Do you store my photos? Are my photos safe and secure?
No, we don't store your photos. Your photos are stored on your device, or whichever cloud storage services you already use (Apple or Google Photos). They are safe and secure because they never leave your device.
How do you figure out which photos are good?
That's our secret sauce! Our AI considers a variety of attributes about each photo to determine whether it should be a favorite, a keeper for your camera roll or if it should be deleted. You have the final approval on everything. The more you use the app, the more Ollie learns about your preferences 😊
Will Ollie share my photos with third parties?
Do you delete any photos?
Ollie will make recommendations to delete. After your approval those photos are deleted from your camera roll. As with any photos you delete in Apple photos you have 30 days to recover them from recently deleted photos.
Can I share my photos through the app? Do the recipients need to have Ollie?
Yes, you can share your photos directly from Ollie into any app or messenger service. The recipients do not have to have Ollie.
Where have you been all my life?
We've been too busy dealing with our own photo mess 😅
What categories are photos sorted into?
Ollie sorts your photos into three groups: Favorites, Keep & Trash. Favorites are the ones you love the most (you know the ones you print in a book or show on a digital frame). Keep are the photos that will just stay on your camera roll. Trash is, well you guessed it, the photos you want to delete and off your camera roll, making space for new memories.
Who is Ollie?
Ollie is our mascot & the name of the app. This cute purple octopus can do so much more than show off his tentacles. He is your personal AI photo assistant and is the brains behind the app and all of its features.
What do you find in the Sort Section of the app?
Here you will find different ways to look at your photos. You can visit the timeline and sort chronologically. You also can pick up where you left off by selecting the continue sorting button. There are also featured albums to sort photos in different groups, for example there is an “On This Day” album that shows you photos from the same calendar date on your phone. This is a great way to look through photos from multiple years. There is also a “Screenshots, etc” album. These are the photos that Ollie has designated for the trash. If you are in the mood to delete this would be a good place to start.
How do you decide what goes in “Screenshots, Etc”?
Our AI considers a variety of attributes about each photo to determine whether the photo should be sent to this album. The attributes include: blurry photos, screenshots, documents, receipts and others. Most of the time you will see the photos that you want to delete from your camera roll.
What are “Related Photos?”
As you sort you will notice that the AI has put related photos into groups and it chooses the best from the bunch to send to Favorites. Related photos could be photos of the same moment, but it could also be photos taken seconds apart.
What happens if I don’t agree with Ollie’s choices?
You can easily change the category of a photo by tapping on the icon. You can also tap on the select button to edit more than one photo at a time. You also have the option to select “review one by one” and look at each photo individually and change the category by swiping or tapping on the icons on the screen. Everytime you make a change Ollie is learning your preferences and getting smarter when it comes to your photo preferences.
I sent a bunch of photos to Trash, but they are still on my phone. Why?
As you sort photos you can send photos to Trash. They are not automatically deleted when you send them to the trash. For your protection they are only sent to the Trash, but then you must tap the “Empty Trash” button and then once you do that then the photos will be deleted from the app and your camera roll.
Does Ollie work with Google photos?
We can send your Best photos to Google Photos. Just go into settings and select the Google Photos feature.
Where are the photos uploaded into Google Photos?
Your “Best” photos will be uploaded into an album called “Ollie” in Google Photos.
Can I sort photos that are in my Google Photos account, but aren't on my phone?
No, at this time you can only sort photos located on your camera roll or iCloud account.
Can I delete photos from Google Photos?
No, you are not able to delete photos from Google account from Ollie You can only send your “best” photos to an album in Google Photos and they will appear in an album called Ollie.
What is the "On This Day" album?
This album is located in your “to do” section. It will show you all the unsorted photos taken on the same day. This will show all of the photos taken on that date, no matter the year. It is a great way to clean up your camera roll.If you sort this album every day for a year your entire camera roll will be organized.This album is also featured in Best, where it showcases all your favorite picks from “this day” in your entire Best gallery.
Can I save photos to an album?
Yes! You can add photos to current albums you have in Photos or you can create new albums. Those new albums will appear in your Photos app in Apple. You can add photos to album from the To Do, Rest and Best sections of the app. Just click on white circle on the top right corner of the photo. If in grid view you can select multiple photos at once then select the “More” button and then simply add to the album.
Can I edit my photos in the app?
Yes, you can edit photos in the app by clicking on the top right white button on the photo when you are in the carousel view. Once done editing click “next” and it will ask you if you want to save the changes to the photo. This will replace the photo on your camera roll.
What is the widget?
The widget is a great way to easily access the app when you have a couple of minutes to spare to sort photos. It is also a perfect way to showcase your “best” photos on your phone. From the Home Screen, touch and hold a widget or an empty area until the apps jiggle. Tap the Add button (+) in the upper-left corner. Select a widget, choose a widget size, then tap Add Widget. Tap Done.
How do I schedule a reminder/notification?
It is easy to schedule a reminder with Ollie. From the “To Do” screen click on the setting icon ⚙️. Tap on “Allow notification” and pick the time of day you would like to receive the reminder.